Tiger Paw

Lawrenceburg High School 2021 Athletic Hall of Fame Ceremony on Saturday, July 17, 2021 at 6:30 pm - Open to the Public

Lawrenceburg High School is proud to announce its 2021 class to be inducted into the Lawrenceburg High School Athletic Hall of Fame.  The LHS Athletics Hall of Fame class of 2021 inductees, will be honored at a public ceremony on Saturday, July 17, 2021 in the LHS Main Gym at 6:30 pm.  There will be a private ceremony for inductees and their families at 5:00 pm in the LHS Cafeteria.  

We will also be recognizing our 2020 class on this evening as well, as their induction ceremony was canceled due to the pandemic. 

Starting with the 2018-2019 school year Lawrenceburg will annually induct individuals into the LHS Athletic Hall of Fame.  Community members are invited to submit nominees for LHS Athletic Hall of Fame consideration for 2021-2022.  A nomination form can be picked up in the Lawrenceburg High School Athletic Office, be printed off of the LHS Athletic web-site http://www.lburg.k12.in.us/o/high-school-athletics, or attached to this press release.  The 2021-2022 nomination process will close on December 31, 2021.  A decision on the 2022 class will be made in the winter of 2021-2022 with a ceremony in the spring of 2022.


The 2020-2021 Lawrenceburg High School Hall of Fame class consists of

John Broughton (Class of 1964)

Michele (Metzler) Duvall (Class of 2006)

Denise (Richter) Kahley (Class of 1986)

Ryan Knigga (Class of 1996)

Jon Richter (Class of 1990)


Class of 2021 Inductee Brief Bio:

John Broughton – Jon was a member of the Class of 1964.  He was the QB of the first undefeated Lawrenceburg High School Football team (1963) under LHS Hall of Fame Coach Pat O’Neill.  John earned twelve (12) Varsity letters as an athlete at LHS.  He earned three letters each in Football, Baseball, Basketball, and Track.  Jon went on to become an Indiana Football Hall of Fame member (2019) as the Head Coach and eventually the Athletic Director at Pendleton Heights High School.  Mr. Broughton passed away on May 11, 2021.


Michele (Metzler) Duvall – Michele was a member of the class of 2006.  She excelled in Volleyball and was a four year letter winner.  Michele is the Lawrenceburg High School career record holder for Volleyball in the categories of Kills (1366), Blocks (356), and Hitting Efficiency (.358).  She was named All-EIAC as a junior and senior.  Michele was also the 2006 EIAC Volleyball MVP, was All-State in 2006, and was a South Indiana All-Star in 2006.  Michele went on to play collegiate volleyball at Miami University (Ohio).


Denise (Richter) Kahley – Denise is a 1986 graduate of Lawrenceburg High school.  She was IHSAA State Finalist in 1985 and 1986 and EIAC Tennis MVP Sophomore, Junior, and Senior years.  Denise was the #1 singles player for four years on the tennis team, including the 1986 Girls Tennis Semi-State squad. 


Ryan Knigga – Ryan graduated from LHS in 1996 and was a four year letter winner in football, three year letter winner in basketball, and a three year letter winner in baseball.  He was All-EIAC for Football his junior and senior years.  Ryan was also All-State for Offense and All-State for Defense his senior year and was part of the 1996 IFCA North/South All-Star game.  Ryan went on to play football at Indiana State.  He is currently the Head Varsity Football Coach at Lawrenceburg.


Jon Richter – Jon is a 1990 graduate of Lawrenceburg High School.  He reached the IHSAA State Finals all four years of his high school career, finishing 3rd in 1989.  He was also EIAC MVP all four years of his high school career.   


The 2019-2020 Lawrenceburg High School Hall of Fame class consists of

Matt Albright (Class of 1975, Contributor 1985-2012, 2013-present)

Jim Faehr (Class of 2009)

Ray Furney (Contributor 1978 – 2014)

Ron Kennett (Class of 1961)

Jim Pugh (Coach 1975 – 1995)



Class of 2020 Inductee Brief Bio:


Matt Albright – Matt graduated from LHS in 1975, playing football, basketball, and baseball for the Tigers.  At one time Matt held the football record for most interceptions in a season.  Matt is most known in Lawrenceburg as “the voice of the Tigers” announcing Tiger football and basketball games for 33 years.


Jim Faehr - As an LHS graduate of 2009, Jim was a standout multi-sport athlete earning 12 varsity letters (in football, basketball, and baseball) during his LHS athletic career. Jim was All-EIAC (Football – 2007 and 2008, Basketball – 2008 and 2009, Baseball – 2007, 2008, and 2009), was 2A Football All-State in 2008, and was 2A Baseball All-State in 2009. Jim went on to play basketball at Hanover College.


Ray Furney – Ray was a longtime teacher, coach, and athletic trainer for the Tigers for 36 years. He passed away in 2017.


Ron Kennett – As an LHS graduate in 1961, Ron Kennett excelled in basketball, baseball, and track for the Tigers.  Ron was All-EIAC (Basketball – 1960 and 1961, and Baseball – 1960 and 1961).  He was All-State (Basketball – 1961 and Baseball 1961).  Ron went on to play basketball and baseball at the University of Kentucky.

  Jim Pugh – Coach Pugh was a long-time teacher and coach for the Tigers from 1975-1995 (Head Varsity Boys Basketball Coach (1980-1993), Assistant Girls Basketball Coach (93-95), Assistant Varsity Football Coach (1975 -1979, 81-94), Boys’ and Girls’ Varsity Golf Coach 75-83).  As the Varsity Boys Basketball Coach, he led the Tigers to four sectional championships (1981, 1982, 1991, and 1992) and one regional championship (1992).  Coach Pugh was an assistant coach on the Tigers football state championship team in 1975 and 1978.  He was also an assistant coach on the state football runner-up team in 1976 and 1985.